2 Comments

Unrequited love: My favorite moments from the fifth and sixth Harry Potter films

One day closer to the finale of Harry Potter means one more entry with my favorite scenes from previous films. Here are my choices for the fifth and sixth film.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
(2007)

Ginny's feelings for Harry begin to show when he's in his fifth year and she is in her fourth year. Courtesy photo.

One of my favorite scenes in this film is actually just this little moment right before Harry‘s first kiss with Cho Chang. If you watch the video, it happens at about the 15-second mark. Everyone is leaving the Room of Requirement, which suits Harry because he wants to be alone with Cho. Ginny Weasley knows this and isn’t too thrilled.

I love this little moment because it’s foreshadowing what’s to come.

While everyone is focused on Harry’s growing crush on Cho, they forget Ginny’s (non-possessed) behavior during year two around Harry, which just screams, “CRUSH!” During years three and four, Ginny gets pushed into the background a bit as Harry begins to notice Cho.

But it appears that Ginny has had her eye on our hero since day one, despite dating other boys.

This is a very subtle moment that most people would miss if they weren’t paying attention. There are a few moments like this in the film. I liked the subtlety because it’s just enough for audiences to wonder. Obviously, avid readers like myself would already know the whole deal, but for those who just enjoy the films, they begin to give Ginny a second and third thought — especially as she comes into her powers as a witch.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
(2009)

Hermione is heartbroken after seeing Ron kissing Lavendar. Courtesy photo.

In this film, my favorite scene is where Harry comforts Hermione after Ron kisses Lavendar Brown. This is just one more chapter in the Ron-and-Hermione saga.

Although there have been hints in previous books and films about a potential romance, the sixth installment brings it all into the forefront — with these scenes setting it up and sticking Harry smack dab in the middle of it all.

While it’s really sad, the scene with Hermione crying is my favorite because she is just so heartbroken that she’s wearing her heart on her sleeve, which she doesn’t do often. I’ve been there and I know exactly how she feels so whenever I watch this scene, I sometimes do get a little teary eyed.

Another great thing about this scene is the bond between Harry and Hermione. The two are best friends and it’s natural for people to wonder whether they would become a couple, but this scene cements the fact that their relationship is strictly platonic. They share their feelings of unrequited love for their respective Weasleys and comfort each other. It’s such a sweet moment.

Of course, the scenes following with Harry and Ron and then Harry and Hermione are hilarious because they’re just pure high school. The two are saying they’re fine with the situation when they’re clearly not. And I just love how Hermione asks out someone specifically to annoy Ron. For someone so intelligent and composed, it’s nice to see she’s still a teenage girl and not against a little revenge.

2 comments on “Unrequited love: My favorite moments from the fifth and sixth Harry Potter films

  1. You could modify the plan, eliminating some of the costliest remodel manufactured homeing jobs as they require new foundations and other substantial costly changes
    to your present home, case closed. FlooringSlate can make a room
    look much larger than it actually is. Cottages evoke seaside vacations, a countryside locale,
    or a new mantra for me, please comment below.

  2. Hey there I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was browsing
    on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all
    round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also
    added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

