3 Comments

History Lessons

Throughout my college career, I’ve been assigned a lot of reading. Some of it’s been interesting, some of it hasn’t. It just comes without saying. This last week, one of the chapters I had to read for class was about the history of open discourse and how it relates to blogging. I’ll be honest and say that it wasn’t exactly the most interesting read where facts are concerned, but it was interesting to see how far we’ve come since the Acta Diurna (I’m still skeptical about whether journalist really derives from the word “diurna”). Now, with blogging, I think that that’s only going to further progress and it’ll be interesting to see where we go from here.

When it comes to blogs, many are used just as personal diaries. I never really thought about it much before but after reading the fourth chapter in D.F.B., I see that we really have come a long way from the personal private diaries we used to keep when we were younger. I kept one when I was younger, but I was never really too invested in it and I quickly gave up and just stopped bothering. I just think it’s really interesting, the contrast between keeping your personal thoughts and experiences private and making them public for the whole world to see.

I’ve never really been too keen on making my innermost thoughts public, but I guess I really shouldn’t be talking since I’ve started a blog. We’ll see how personal this baby gets as we go. I’ve also always found it interesting to see how people can get so interested and so wrapped into other people’s lives—even people they don’t even know. People obsess over celebrity gossip like it’s their lifeblood and are always craving to know which couples just broke up and which ones are now pregnant.

Let’s face it people, we’re a culture that obsesses over the lives of others as much as we obsess over our own…

Questions:

1.       Why are some people so willing to divulge their most personal and private thoughts in a way that makes them so public?

2.       Why are people so interested in reading the most personal and private thoughts of people they don’t even know sometimes?

3 comments on “History Lessons

  1. Celebrity culture. :-/
    I don’t understand it, myself.

    I’m glad you made it through your reading!

  2. […] Samantha 1) Why are some people so willing to divulge their most personal and private thoughts in a way that makes them so public? 2) Why are people so interested in reading the most personal and private thoughts of people they don’t even know sometimes? […]

  3. 2zGlQ0 Blogs rating, add your blog to be rated for free:
    http://blogsrate.net

Leave a Reply

