1 Comment

Networking: Where the only way is out

This week’s readings were focused around how, in this day a age, technologically speaking, it’s all about networking and how we’ve become a networking society. And just as that old cliche goes, it’s not what you know, it’s who you know–or at least whatever the technological equivalent would be. For all the different types of softwares out there, it’s all about being compatible with each other. I agree and think that this component is essential for new websites and programs to succeed in such a technology focused and oriented society. If you don’t work with what’s already out there, then it won’t be long before you’re not working at all. I think that it’ll be interesting to see how this networking will progress and see which websites, services and programs will be able to sustain in this world of constant updating and change.

I can see both the positive and the negative in all of this. It’s positive in the fact that these programs will allow you to connect with people in ways that weren’t always possible, or at least not always physically, logistically or financially feasible. Just as Stefanac says, these new technologies “allow you to make that call to Timbuktu for nothing.” For somebody who was just recently abroad for a quarter, I can honestly say that I greatly appreciate this aspect of the new advances.

On the other hand, there is that whole issue of privacy. Just like in networking, the more people you know, the more people who have access to your business. The same applies to online networking. But there’s an even greater risk here because it’s the World Wide Web, and well that’s just it–it’s world wide. I’ve got to admit that this makes me a little uneasy to say the least but I’m dealing.

Another topic that was touched upon in this week’s readngs was how search engines like Google, Yahoo and MSN are affecting how we journalists write not only our headlines, but our articles as well. In one of my past journalism classes, we talked about this and just like back then, I’m still not sure how I feel about it. Especially now that I’ve read that people are beginning to turn into “humanbots” and read their headlines in the same way. I mean, I understand it completely in the logical sense in that it’s a machine that generates the search results, but in the creative sense, it obvious leaves quite a bit to be desired. I’m a big fan of writing headlines and titles (the one task in copywriting that I truly enjoy) and I think that it’s blatantly obvious from the titles of my blogs alone. I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to deal with this, but I’m determined to be able to write the creative headline while still being search result worthy.

Questions:

1. How can we contiune networking online and keep up with the times and still be able to maintain a reasonable amount of privacy?

2. Why do you think people are becoming more prone to turning into “humanbots” and read their headlines the same way that search engines do?

One comment on “Networking: Where the only way is out

  1. This is EXACTLY the type of stuff we talked about in my Geography Info Systems class, like privacy issues and networking when it comes to gathering information. It’s kind of weird how our different topics relate to each other eh?

Leave a Reply

