Leave a comment

China Gold at its best: Chinese win gold in Men’s All-Around Team Final in Gymnastics

The victory of China Gold has never been sweeter that won by the Chinese Men’s Gymnastics Team. Favored to win the gold, the Chinese entered the Beijing National Indoor Stadium with, maybe not the weight of the world, but at least the weight of a nation on their shoulders to bring home the gold. If you think that eases the pressure I urge you to think again, my friend. With a population of 1.3 billion, the Olympics’ host country not only hopes for gold from its athletes but expects it. I can only imagine how much of a disappointment I’d be if I were one; I’d most likely snap under the pressure like a twig.

I commend and congratulate the Chinese male gymnasts tonight. I’ve got to admit that although I’m all for the Americans going for the gold in general, I was seriously rooting for the Chinese in this case. I just really wanted them to win because they deserved it. Not only have they worked so hard–just as everybody else has–and their own country is hosting the games, but their head coach Huang Yubin was quoted before the games started, “If we win only one gold again, I will jump off the highest building.” I wouldn’t want that kind of responsibility to be thrown at anybody.

The Japanese–the defending Olympic champions–received the silver medal. Initially they didn’t exactly perform as well as they could have. There wasn’t the usual intensity you would see with defending Olympic champions but they were somehow able to hang in there.

The Americans came out with the bronze and again, I couldn’t be happier for them. After both Paul and Morgan Hamm dropped out due to injuries, the team was left with all newcomers. Many people doubted them and were skeptical about their chances to medal, but they proved everybody wrong. They just hit routine after routine after routine; you couldn’t ask for anything more.

Watching the men’s team final tonight was really nothing short of amazing. The skills these guys performed–from all countries–just blew my mind. I couldn’t believe some of the things they were throwing out there. I got nervous just watching them at home. It really made me miss the sport.

Again, congratulations to the Chinese, Japanese and American Men’s gymnastics teams! You worked your whole lives for this moment and it has finally paid off. Great job and good luck in your upcoming events!

Now, it’s onto the Women’s competition tomorrow night! Good luck ladies!

Leave a Reply

