3 Comments

A list of lists (part 1)

Best friends forever!

BFF: Best friends forever!

In honor of one of my BFFs who is big on list-making, I’ve decided to make this blog a list of lists of random facts about myself (I’m having one of those “It’s all about me” moments…humor me and read on). I already know that they’re going to range from pretty normal to ridiculous to the point of being absurd. Enjoy!

Five things I want to accomplish in my life:

  1. Publish at least one book – I know everybody says this at one point in their lives, but this has been something I’ve always wanted to do for as long as I remember. Need I remind you that while writing may not be “in my blood,” it has been a part of me and who I am since the beginning? I don’t know if I’ll be writing fiction or non-fiction, but I do know that this is something I really want to do.
  2. Have a family – Interesting how this comes second on the list. Although it’s not in any particular order, I’m surprised that this wasn’t the first thing that popped in my mind. Oh well. But yeah, family is important to me and I’d like to have one of my own some day. I like the idea of coming home from work (because I will definitely be a working mom) to a husband and kids who love me just as much as I love them.
  3. Become editor of a magazine – This is my ultimate goal professionally. I want to be the editor-in-chief of my own literary magazine. It combines my two passions: journalism and literature. I don’t know exactly when this will happen, but I’m going to do everything I can to make it happen, so we’ll see how far it takes me.
  4. Live outside of the Seattle area/on my own – I know that this may sound like nothing, but to me it’s important. Right now, I’m a college graduate who still lives with her parents, in the same house she grew up in. I’m not saying I want to move away for good. I know that ultimately, I’ll probably want to end up settling down here. However, after studying in Rome for three months and traveling around Europe on my own, I really liked being independent and I want to be that way for awhile before I settle down. I don’t want to be one of those women who goes from her dad’s house straight to her husband’s house (sorry, but I never even stepped foot in a sorority so it seems I’ve already skipped that step).
  5. Be happy – I think this is something that we’re all striving to accomplish. While I love my life right now, I know that there are things about it that I would change if I had the opportunity (i.e. a full-time writer/reporter position, a significant other, etc.). I want to reach a point where I am truly content with the way my life is. 

Five things I like to do in my spare time:

  1. Read – I probably do this more than I should because there are times it seriously cuts into my sleep time (especially when I’m on deadline). But what can I say? I’ve always been a bookworm!
  2. Write – I’m a journalist (trying) by profession. I have a blog. And I write poetry and fiction. Need I say more? If you think I do, read some of my other posts.
  3. YouTube – One of the best time wasters if there ever was one. It definitely helps the day go by faster when I’m at my receptionist job at John L. Scott where all I have is spare time.
  4. Go to bookstores – I’m not even the least bit kidding about this. When I’ve got nothing to do, I hit up my local bookstores: Half Price Books, Borders and Barnes and Noble. I can spend hours there. No joke. Sometimes I like to go to the ones in the surrounding area such as University Village, Northgate or Everett Mall. Variety is the spice of life!
  5. Addicting Games – Specifically, Phit. My friend Jessica (the same one with the lists) told me about this website and I was always on it at work for awhile. That was before they blocked everything though, so I’m out of luck to play games while I’m there. However, I do like to play while I’m at home!

Five things I love reading:

  1. Romance novels – As ridiculous and unrealistic some of the situations the characters end up in, it’s still a nice story of boy and girl meet, boy and girl date (or just sleep together), boy and girl screw it up somehow and boy and girl fix it and live happily ever after. It gives me hope that there are decent guys out there and that there’s one out there for me. Plus, the sex scenes are always fun. What can I say? I’m single. I’ve got to get my kicks somehow.
  2. Fantasy novels – From Harry Potter to Chrestomanci, I’m a huge fan of books involving magic, witches, wizards, castles and dragons. I started out young with books you would find in the children’s section (I was a child at the time), such as the Oz series–yes people, The Wizard of Oz was a book first and it is part of a series–and Edgar Eager books as well as The Phantom Tollbooth and The Indian in the Cupboard books. Soon I graduated to the teen section where I’ve become a fan of Diana Wynne Jones and Diane Duane (I haven’t read too much of her stuff, but I like it). I’ve yet to make it to the adult sci-fi/fantasy section, but I’m sure I’ll get there someday.
  3. “The other story” – Books that tell a well-known story but from a different point of view are always fun to read. I just love books such as “Wicked” and “Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister” by Gregory Maguire because they told the same story but in a different way. “Lamb” by Christopher Moore is another brilliant example as it covers what I like to call, Jesus: The Lost Years.
  4. Stories where people don’t take themselves so seriously – Both Stephen Colbert (“I Am America (And So Can You!)”) and Christian Lander (“Stuff White People Like”) show the ability to make light of sensitive topics as well as laugh at oneself. I find it quite enjoyable to read this kind of stuff (the more un-PC, the better) because the way I see it, life is too short to sweat the small stuff…so don’t!
  5. Reviews – Mostly, I’m big on reading book reviews. I find them useful for the obvious reason as to whether or not I want to buy a particular book. It saves me a lot of time and money. I don’t do this that much in the form of movies though…maybe I should.

Five things I hate reading:

  1. Stories where journalists are portrayed as unethical, heartless, soulless bastards who only care about the story – A little piece of me dies inside each time I come across this because we’re not all like that! I mean sure, the story is important and doing whatever it takes to get it is just as important. However, there are limits people! I’d like to think that most journalists know what that limit is and when to respect the rights and privacy of our sources and those who are affected by the story.
  2. Celebrity gossip- I’m sorry, but I just cannot get myself to care about which celebrity has cheated on their significant other and has either knocked them up or has been knocked up by them as a result. I just can’t. I’m sorry. The people who write these–or worse, make them up–are not what I consider journalists and I hate being lumped into the same category as them. They give us a bad name and I think the world would be a better place without them. Honestly. Sorry if that offends you.
  3. Stories about rich city girls – They annoy me to no end. Maybe if I was a rich city girl I’d enjoy them. But I’m not. And I don’t. I don’t want to read about how a woman doesn’t do anything other than shop all day and how she can no longer her $500 pair of shoes or her $300 sweater and is stuck wearing clothes from last season. I just cannot relate to books like the Gossip Girl series for teens and Singletini for adults with characters like this. I just want to take these girls, shake them and yell, “Get over themselves and join the real world! We’re surviving it and so can you!”
  4. Stories where women either don’t do anything but sit around and look pretty or are expected to do just that – I once told my ex-boyfriend that I was probably a slight feminist. He promptly disagreed and called me a flaming feminist. He might be right with how worked up I get and how upset I get when I hear about anything revolving around these particular topics. Get up and make yourselves useful, women!
  5. Supernatural/paranormal romance novels – I love fantasy and I love romance, but for some reason I really don’t like it when they’re combined. As Wynn would say, I don’t like “romantasy.” I don’t know why that is. I just like them to be separate. The extent of the romance in the fantasy I read consists of teenage crushes (I like to find my fantasy books in the teenage section, thank you very much) such as the ones between Harry and Ginny, Ron and Hermione, Christopher and Millie and Nick and Roddy. The extent of fantasy in the romance I read consists of maybe a ghost of some sort at the most.

Okay, so this list of lists is getting kind of long so I’m going to stop now. There are more lists I think I’m going to make so I’ll continue this later (so much for not writing anymore multiple posts). Until then!

3 comments on “A list of lists (part 1)

  1. You haven’t read “Storm Born”.

    I love being a book worm!

    And I’m going to make a blog list too!!!!

  2. […] Journalism Clips « A list of lists (part 1) […]

Leave a Reply

