3 Comments

“Chuck Klosterman started out in North Dakota…

…and he really honed his shit there. We’re in that ‘honing our shit’ stage in our career.”

-Erin Hicks, Assistant Editor at Men’s Health and Co-Creator of Awkward is Awesome

She makes an excellent point. Right now as a recent graduate I’m not really in the position to be picky about where to work. It’s just like in any line of profession. You’ve got to pay your dues. I think that it works out better this way because there are things in the real world that you can’t learn in the classroom and it’s better to learn them in a smaller environment where there’s more opportunity for specific one-on-one help rather than generalized help. In the case of my chosen profession, starting out at a smaller publication in a smaller city/town is a more ideal situation than starting out at one of the bigger ones because it’s easy to get lost in the shuffle at a bigger publication. Learning the ropes of a newsroom would probably be much less intimidating (at least in my opinion) in an environment where there’s not as much going on and there’s more time to focus perfecting your skills–or as Erin would say, your shit: writing, interviewing, phone, note taking, you name it. It doesn’t matter where you go. If you’re just starting out, you’ve obviously got a lot to learn and it’s best to learn in a place where people have the time and will actually take the time to teach you what you need to know.

I bring all of this up because that’s exactly what I’m doing.

Yup, you read me correctly. I’m moving away from merry Mountlake Terrace and down to Idaho Falls over in Idaho to work at the Post Register–the city’s daily newspaper. Not only that, I’m going to be doing it in less than two weeks. I know. Crazy. I got the offer on Friday and they want me there by Election Day so I’ve got less than three weeks to get there. Needless to say, I’ve been extremely overwhelmed about all of this and basically, it’s all I can think about. My emotions have been one big mesh and I’ve ended up in tears at random moments. Not for no reason though–I mean, I’m leaving everything and everybody behind, pretty much. I made it a few months in Rome. Let’s see how I survive a few years in Idaho.

I just faxed over my acceptance today and it’s all just very surreal right now. It hasn’t really sunk in and goodness knows what’s going to happen to my state of mind once it does. As many of my friends and co-workers have been saying, I’m a grownup now! This will be the first time I’ll truly, truly be on my own and completely responsible for myself–thank goodness the cost of living is a lot cheaper there than it is over here. To be honest, I’m pretty excited, but at the same time I’m scared shitless. The good news with this though is that now, my bitching and moaning about there being no journalism jobs for new grads will be greatly reduced, if not completely eliminated. I’ll probably start bitching and moaning about how there’s nothing to do in Idaho Falls since I am really not the outdoorsy type (sorry, but this post seems to be filled with swearing…I can’t help it in this case). I seriously hope that’s not the case. Apparently, there’s a huge Barnes and Noble and various used bookstores there (yes, this was a big factor in my decision) as well as a Gap so I think I’ll be alright. Obviously, I’ll continue blogging about my adventures in the wilderness–I mean real world. I’m interested to see how this is all going to turn out.

So, on that note…does anybody have any tips when it comes to moving, living by yourself, being a grownup, Idaho/Idaho Falls or starting out at your first “real” job? I’m all ears and I’ll be truly grateful.

3 comments on ““Chuck Klosterman started out in North Dakota…

  1. […] info By paks2008 Categories: Uncategorized With the upcoming move, I’ve obviously been packing up. I should be doing that right now, but I’m being lazy […]

  2. […] came my move to Idaho. My dad transferred the title to my name and I became Doris’s legal owner. Doris and I bonded […]

  3. […] came my move to Idaho. My dad transferred the title to my name and I became Doris’s legal owner. Doris and I bonded […]

Leave a Reply

