7 Comments

The Great Gap 1708 (pictures galore)!

My Gap family!

My Gap family!

As anxious as I’ve been to get out of retail and into the world of journalism, I will have to say that I will definitely miss falling into the Gap on a regular basis and this was really drilled into my head last night when I had a going away, goodbye dinner with my Gap folk at Macaroni Grill. My friend and coworker Khristina was the one who hatched the plan (as usual) on Tuesday or Wednesday. I was expecting maybe, four or five of us since it was on a Friday night and we were putting it together on such a short notice. It expanded to almost 20 people! I was so touched to have not only my current coworkers, but former ones as well.

Khristina, the mastermind behind it all.

Khristina, the mastermind behind it all.

This is one thing I know I’ll definitely miss. My head of store, Lindsay, offered to transfer me over to the Gap in Idaho Falls but I’m hesitant. Not only do I not know what my schedule will be like once I get there, but our Gap family is somewhat of an oddity because we’re all so close that I’m pretty sure they’ve ruined me for all other Gaps. It just wouldn’t be the same to work at a Gap without that bond we all share (cue cheesy music, please!).

It's Charlie's Angels...and then me.

Current, former and soon-to-be former Gap girls!

Here are more highlights from dinner:

Duke came all the way from Ellensburg to see me!

Duke came all the way from Ellensburg to see me!

Okay, not really. He was home for the weekend because he’s going to be working and he stopped by.

The Gap 1708 Ohana.

The Gap 1708 Ohana.

He drew our Gap family on the table.

Andrea's penguin.

Andrea's penguin.

What Tavis looks like at night, according to his wife.

What Tavis looks like at night, according to his wife.

Heather's genie (aka Mike's $2 hooker).

Heather's genie (aka Mike's $2 hooker).

Can you tell that we were having fun with the crayons and paper tablecloth?

Florence and her husband, but NOT her baby.

That's Florence and her husband, but that's NOT her baby.

She's THEIR baby.

She's THEIR baby.

Me and the Villacorta family.

Me and the Villacorta family.

Me, H. Wangster and her fiance Mike.

Me, H. Wangster and her fiance Mike.

Tavis and Katrina's Baby Burrito!

People brought their significant others and families as well. So, of course the Petr Burrito (aka Antea Olivia) made an appearance.

Rosary made it!

Rosary made it!

Heather is always happy!

Heather is always happy!

Alyssa finally made it to a function!

Alyssa finally made it to a function!

So did my fellow 2008 UW Grad, Liane!

So did my fellow 2008 UW Grad, Liane!

I love my Gap family. I don’t know What I’m going to do when I’m in Idaho without them!

7 comments on “The Great Gap 1708 (pictures galore)!

  1. I love your Gap family too. =)
    Now I don’t have an excuse to visit… otherwise, it’s just creepy.

  2. What are you talking about, Wynn!!?? You can come and visit me and bring ice creams! i remember that time when u tried to spoon feed me with your ice cream. well, I work nites on weekdays (err, nites) like 5pm onwards and on Sat and Sun i usually open until 3PM. So there you go… (and maybe we can adopt you in our 1708 famfam and L share some secrets with you!), haha.

  3. Sam!! So sorry I was a jerk and didn’t remember to bid you farewell! I hope you have an amazing time in Idaho, and you’re going to do fantastic at your new job. Of course, remember that you always have a home at the Gap, and we will miss you terribly!

  4. Sam, Since you visited my blog, I decided to tour yours! I love the pictures! Oh, it makes me miss all of you guys up there. So, are you in Idaho permanently or just a trip? How fun to see pictures of Tavis’ baby! He’s a great dad I bet! Say hello to anyone I might know whenever you cross paths with them! -Tia!!!

  5. […] I’d definitely want to just turn around and head back to Seattle. While I do miss my 1708 family, I’ve got to admit that it’s definitely nice to be working in a newsroom on a regular […]

  6. […] I obviously never knew Fisher, but I do have to say this: The four years I worked at one of his stores were some of the best of my life. I met so many great friends there. It’s been almost a year […]

Leave a Reply

