5 Comments

Leaving the nest for the newsroom

So, I’ve been here in Idaho Falls for about a week and a half. Well technically I live in Ammon, the neighboring city, but Idaho Falls is literally the next street over and since I work in Idaho Falls and everything is there, for all intents and purposes, I’m just going to say Idaho Falls.

I think the best way to describe my experiences so far is different. Some of it has been good. Some of it has been bad. It’s definitely been somewhat of a challenge adjusting to living on my own. It’s weird coming home from work to an empty apartment as opposed to a house with my family. Eventually, I’ll get used to it, but right now it’s still pretty weird not seeing my parents and my sister every day. As we said our goodbyes on Saturday, I cried. I mean, I seriously flat out started bawling. This is the first time I’ve been living by myself. That three month stint in Rome doesn’t really count since I knew it was going to be temporary. Right now, I am truly living on my own. I’ve talked to my parents every day since Saturday and I’ve talked to my sister a couple times since then as well but it’s just not the same. I’m a “real” grownup, now and I’m not sure how I feel about it yet.

On the flip side, my new job here at the Post Register has been working out pretty well. The people I work with have turned out to be pretty cool–thank god, because if they didn’t I’d definitely want to just turn around and head back to Seattle. While I do miss my 1708 family, I’ve got to admit that it’s definitely nice to be working in a newsroom on a regular basis and working with people who understand more of what I’ve been going through–academically and professionally–since before I graduated. It’s also been nice to be doing what I love: writing. Before, I wasn’t really writing on a regular basis (besides this blog) so now that I am, it’s great!

Honestly though, there have been times in the last week and a half where I’ve asked myself what the hell I was thinking when I accepted this job. I mean, I left everything behind: family, friends, the coast, cafes being open past dusk, multiple major bookstores within reasonable driving range (that was a biggie). You name it. But then, I remind myself that I moved here for a job. I moved here to start my career. I remember this and it makes me feel a bit better about things because I’m reminded of the fact that this definitely won’t be permanent. I don’t know where journalism will take me or where I’ll end up, but it’s not going to be here. This isn’t meant as a negative reflection on Idaho Falls and the surrounding area. This is just meant to say that journalism can be done anywhere and that there are opportunities everywhere (just obviously not the greater Seattle area, at the moment). Who knows where I’ll end up?

One more thing, this whole experience has allowed me to check one thing off of my list of things I want to accomplish in my life. I’m still a little ways away from becoming ed-chief of my own magazines, but I’m definitely taking the steps I need to get there. Right now, I’m concerned enough at the moment about just taking care of myself so having my own family is out of the question for the time being and thinking about publishing a book makes me think of Stewie mocking Brian because I seem to be in the same position as Brian.

As for being happy? Well, I think that once I accomplish the other three things, I’ll manage this last one. We’ll see.

5 comments on “Leaving the nest for the newsroom

  1. Yes, you never know what you will get to do! And the place you’re at shouldn’t limit you either. After a while, you realize there’s opportunities. When I came to Yakima nearly three years ago, I couldn’t imagine that I would be learning to shoot video, going to South Korea to report about Washington sweet cherries there and starting my own blog for the paper.

    You have a great attitude. Keep it up. There are too many cynics out there. I believe if you are assertive and show your care for journalism, you will get some great opportunities while you’re in Idaho Falls. And I’m looking forward to see what exactly you will do!

    Good luck. And you know you can call me if you need anything (or how to be an Asian in a very un-Asian place. hahahha/_

  2. […] a position as the education reporter. I accepted and moved to IF, which is where I live now. I did a lot of growing up since then and have learned the joys and pitfalls of being on my […]

  3. […] I’d left the nest for a year, I will be returning and moving back in with the parentals. I know it sounds kind of […]

  4. […] paid off my student loans (YAY!); I’ve bought a new car (miss you Doris!); and I even moved out at one […]

Leave a Reply

