2 Comments

My most recent discovery: Stuff Journalists Like

Yesterday while Facebooking, I stopped by my friend’s page. She posted a link to a blog called, Stuff Journalists Like. It’s a spinoff of the blog, Stuff White People Like, or as the creators like to say, an old idea with a new twist.

Let me just say that it’s pretty accurate. I was able to relate to a lot of the stuff.

For example, attending events where there’s free food is always a big plus–especially when it’s a fluff sort of story. I covered a few of those (with the help of my handy dandy reporter’s notebook) in the last week or so and both the photographer and I appreciated this.

I’ve also had some reader feedback. Some of it’s been good. But I’ve been on the receiving end of some pretty bad feedback too (bad to the point where the reader has threatened to cancel their subscription). But as my editor told me when I received my first batch of negative emails (in regards to an article about a Proposition 8 protest), you’re not officially a journalist until you’ve pissed people off.

There’s a few other things I’ve been able to relate to like writing (while writing standing up) in shorthand–though not to the extent shown in the post–to eventually see my name in print. I’m a member of a professional organization (AAJA) and definitely have plans to write a book.

I haven’t gotten around to dating another journalist but that’s probably because I haven’t gotten around to dating in general. Most likely because I tend to procrastinate a lot.

So, there you go. It’s a lot of links. I know. But whatever. I don’t care.

If you’re a journalist I guarantee you’ll appreciate this blog. If you’re not a journalist, this is your opportunity to take a look into our world and see what it’s like and better understand the people get your news from better.

2 comments on “My most recent discovery: Stuff Journalists Like

  1. Yes it’s her. I had to delete your comment because I didn’t want her name showing up… or where she went to school haha.

  2. Oh, no problem hahaha.

Leave a Reply

