4 Comments

A somewhat whiny moment with a completely single girl

With the holidays fast approaching, plenty out there are probably still contemplating the perfect gift for their loved ones and I’ll admit to being one of them. One person I don’t have to worry about finding a gift for, though, is my boyfriend because well, at the moment, he’s nonexistent! This is one thing I don’t really mind about being single. I’ve saved a good chunk of change since I haven’t had to worry about buying Christmas, Valentine’s Day, birthday and anniversary presents for someone. Not to mention pay for dates and whatnot (I believe both parties should be equal when it comes to spending–ladies, we’ve entered the working world so there’s no reason for him pay for everything).

But I’ve also got to admit that this time of year has made me miss being part of a couple.

While it is a pain in the ass agonizing over the perfect gift for your mate, you’ve got to admit that when the idea finally comes to you and you find that gift, it can be quite a rush. And it’s always satisfying when you give it to them.

This, paired with my constant reading of romance novels (as well as living away from home) makes for a very lonely Sammi. The thing with these books is that, like Disney movies, they can give women unrealistic expectations about men. My friend Wynn has big issues with this genre for that very reason (among others, I’m sure). She doesn’t think men like this exist and honestly, who can blame her? I mean, I’ve yet to find a guy who has a fierce protective streak and would, more or less, put a woman’s needs before his–including in bed.

But to be fair, I’ve yet to find a woman like that either and I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m not a completely selfless person and am not always *gasp* the perfect girlfriend. I know, major surprise, huh? Sorry if I’ve ruined the illusion for you.

Still, it’d be nice to find a guy who was like that at least a good amount of the time. And of course, in return, I’d be like that at least a good amount of the time as well–again, stressing my belief in equality in a relationship.

With this in mind, I’ve recently seen the video for “If I Were a Boy” by Beyoncé. Now, I’m not a fan of hers (many people know I really don’t like her) but I do kind of like this song. She makes some good points. My past relationship experiences was never as bad as the situation in the video but there were moments when I’d wish I could just let it go as easily as a guy would. I would like to think that if I were in a relationship like the one in the video, I wouldn’t let things go that far south; but if I had, I’d speak up and confront the guy.

Either that or I’d leave him.

From all of this, I’ve determined that I’d like to find a guy who is somewhere in between the ones I read about and the one in the video (leaning more towards the ones I read, though…obviously). I get that nobody’s perfect and finding somebody like Joe Winston or Elec Monroe would be highly improbable (though, not impossible) but that doesn’t mean I’m going to settle for a complete asshole either. I just want a guy who cares about me and wants to be with me. Is that too much to ask for?

Okay, whiny single girl moment is over. Hopefully we won’t have another one for awhile (probably Valentine’s Day) but you never know.

I’ll try to keep it to a minimum.

I promise.

4 comments on “A somewhat whiny moment with a completely single girl

  1. “probably valentines day” haha.

    I think guy should pay for dates in the beginning but that’s because I’m old fashioned and see nothing wrong with being a house wife!

  2. Sam, Iv been feeling the same way this year. It really started to hit me when I was watching all the couples christmas shopping at work the past few days! Damnit! I miss winning to you at work about how much I hate being single and how Im gonna be single forever! lol I cant wait to see you when you get back!! See you soon!

  3. […] single is not your entire being. It’s just a part of you. While I’ll admit to the occasional moments of loneliness, I don’t mind being on my own. I’ve saved a ton of money on gifts, eating out, etc. I […]

Leave a Reply

