1 Comment

Good people vs. Bad people

There are some days when I just have to shake my head in sadness at the state of humanity.

Today was such a day.

Probably a little overdramatic, but it’s true. Recently, a friend of mine was on the receiving end of some very personal attacks by people they don’t even know and some of the things that were said were just plain mean-spirited. This just made me wonder what would fuel such comments. I understand that my friend made a point on a certain topic that started things but this point wasn’t directed toward any specific individual. It was just them sharing their personal views and people could take it or leave it however they saw fit.

Well, when these people got wind of what my friend said, things got blown way out of proportion and all of a sudden they began attacking (and I really do mean attacking) my friend. Thankfully it was just with words and nothing physical (although, there were some comments said that not only implied physical violence, but said it outright) but sometimes I feel like those attacks are the ones that hurt the most and stay with us the longest.

So, I just want to say that sometimes you say things and you may just mean it jokingly, but there are people who–even though they know you’re not serious–will take it personally. I think that how you make them feel is a reflection on you as a person: If you make them feel shitty, then–for at least that moment in time–you’re a shitty person.

I’m not saying I’ve never been guilty of this. I have. I’m a very blunt person who doesn’t take things too seriously and doesn’t always think before speaking. Sometimes I say things that I don’t always really mean. I just like to think that I’m not the type of person who would say or do things to intentionally hurt a person. That just makes you bad people.

All in all, I just want to say to my friend (you know who you are) that my heart goes out to you and don’t let those jackasses get you down. You’re good people and for this moment in time, they’re not.

One comment on “Good people vs. Bad people

  1. Lowell told me “fighting over the internet it like the special olympics. Even if you win, you’re still a retard.”

    It made me laugh/feel better.

    Thanks for your support. =) Glad to know we still have nice people haha.

    ps – feel free to log onto my site to read posts. Bear with me while I put out some fires in order to make my site public again. This may result in a URL change though.

Leave a Reply

