2 Comments

Due to mature language, parental discretion is advised

Fuck you, Mother Nature.

Fuck you, Mother Nature.

For the past week, I’ve been holding a countdown for the day I got home. It was supposed come to a conclusion today but because there’s supposed to be a snowstorm back in Seattle tonight, my flight was canceled and the earliest flight they could get me on is tomorrow afternoon–in 24 hours. I wish it could be tomorrow morning but what can you do?

When I realized this, I called my dad to let him know. I was still in the airport and I was getting upset to the point where I actually was starting to cry a little. Not bawling–thank goodness–but my eyes were tearing up.

I’ve just got to say, what the fuck?! Since when does it snow in Seattle and actually stick? And even more so, since when does it snow in Seattle in December? Snow as early as November or as late as April, I understand but I honestly can’t remember ever having a white Christmas. I’m more accustomed to a wet Christmas.

I looked it up and here’s what my trip home is going to look like, weather-wise:

How accurate do you think this is?

How accurate do you think this is?

I’m not sure if this is really what my trip will be like but at this point I really don’t care. I just want to be home, damn it!

I’ve been looking forward to this trip since I bought my ticket and I should probably be thinking, I’ve waited two months, what’s another day? Right? WRONG! I was fucking pissed when I realized I couldn’t fly out till tomorrow. It’s not that I hate Idaho Falls or anything like that. I’ve gotten used to the city and living on my own. I just really miss  home. I literally woke up with a smile on my face because I assumed I’d be seeing my family and friends in less than twelve hours. Stupid me.

Why didn’t I ever consider the weather might affect my plans and fuck me over? Because the snow in Seattle is rarely that fucking bad! I knew it was pretty snowy back home. Everybody I’d been talking to has told me this. Apparently I didn’t know just how bad it was till it came back to bite me in the ass. Again, stupid me.

Mother Nature can be such a bitch sometimes. Why’d she have to pick this year to actually give Seattle, what most people consider, a winter? Why couldn’t she just stick to the routine and give us the water works? That way, we’d at least know–more or less–how to deal with it.

Seattlelites and snow don’t exactly mesh. We’re water folk. We prepare for floods, not snowstorms. We’re used to walking around in the rain (usually, sans umbrella) and having the bottom of our pants perpetually soaked. We’re accustomed to driving with our wipers working on a regular basis. But the mere mention of snow? Well, everybody freaks out and shuts down. Let’s not even get started on the driving aspect. The roads just turn into a fucking shit show it’s so ridiculous. I have to say that I have been getting better at driving in the snow since I’ve been in Idaho Falls though since it’s been pretty snowy here. Hopefully I’ll be able to transfer these skills for when I get home.

Ugh. Seriously. I still can’t get over the fact that I’ll be here for another day.

Fuck you, Mother Nature. Fuck you.

In the meantime, I’ll be heading over to the library or Barnes & Noble to kill time (probably both) today. I feel like after today, I deserve a new book.

2 comments on “Due to mature language, parental discretion is advised

  1. ohh.. Sam..

    *hug*

    I’m sorry to hear that. Hopefully you can catch the plane tomorrow!

  2. […] survived the winter storm of 2008 (barely) and have learned a lot of lesson, so I’d like to say that the Seattle area has […]

Leave a Reply

