1 Comment

The best things Sammi said in 2008 (according to her)

Another year is coming to a close and that calls for a moment of reflection and introspection. So, in true journalist form, I’ve done a little backtracking and have looked back on what I’ve written since I started this blog back in April. In a moment (or two…or three) of self horn-tooting, I’ve picked out some of my favorites. If you’ve read my About page you’ll know that I started this for a class. I’m not going to include the posts I wrote for assignments since I didn’t exactly choose to write about those topics.

So, here’s the best of Sammi Says, 2008 (according to me)!

Best journalism post

Respecting our first amendment rights – I liked this one because it was informative (in my opinion, at least) but I was also able to write in my own “voice.” It’s not easy to achieve that balance but I think I did in this post.

Best writing post (NOT to be mistaken with the above category)

An unconventional love/hate triangle – It provides a bit of insight into my thought process when it comes to writing–proving that the creative types usually are a bit on the crazy side. And I’m not ashamed to admit that.

Best political post

President Barack Obama: this one’s for the history books – It was such a historical moment and I actually put more thought into things than I usually would because I’m not the most politically interested person.

Best Asian American post

Orient Express, the quick and easy way to offend: Minority Report part 1 – The beginning of some heavy introspection about my heritage and background (hence following three posts).

Best gender post

Further proof that money doesn’t necessarily equal happiness… – My inner feminist makes her first appearance in the blog. It definitely wasn’t her last appearance either.

Best sports post

Mariners baseball is in an upheaval – This is where my determination to become a well-informed baseball fan was born. I’ve just got to work on my follow-through, though.

Best multiple-part post

Single does not equal cynical, Beyond friendship and Positively and independently in love: Relationships and their effects on us – I set out to cover three very different aspects of one topic and I like to think I covered them all well.

Best dating post

Positively and independently in love: relationships and their effects on us, part 3 – I’ve got some very strong opinions when it comes to this topic and I think this sums up a lot of them.

Best emo post

From bad dreams to…loneliness? how did i make that leap? – It’s always nice to have a “poor me” moment every now and then. This was mine.

Best poetry post

Spanish Memories – I was so happy I was able to provide pictures for this poem that I actually took myself and that they actually directly related to the poem itself.

Best Harry Potter post

Harry Potter turns 10, although if he were real, he’d be 28 – I put more thought into this than just posting a video or a link to an article.

Best random post

Vampires come to Seattle – With a title like that, it just doesn’t get any better. Plus, I’m extremely proud of my video editing skills.

One comment on “The best things Sammi said in 2008 (according to her)

  1. Sammi, I really like your blog. Would you mind if I linked you from my blog? Anyway… happy new year!

Leave a Reply

