1 Comment

Highlights from my 22nd year of life

My belated birthday celebration at an Irish pub in Barcelona.

My belated birthday celebration at an Irish pub in Barcelona.

With my 23rd birthday two weeks away, I’ve decided to do a little reflection on how I spent my 22nd year of life.

For the first week and a half or so, I was in Europe. On my actual 22nd, I was in London by myself. I’d just spent three months studying in Rome and had a few weeks before I had to be back home for school. I decided to go to England for a week. One of the main reasons was because The Feeling was touring in the UK. I’d already seen them in concert before but since they’re a British band, I thought it’d be cool to see them, you know, in their natural habitat (I took an overnight bus and saw them in Manchester). Nobody wanted to join me so I was on my own.

I spent my birthday sightseeing around London. At night, I went back to my hostel and did pretty much nothing. I got Chinese food from the place downstairs–after walking about a block and a half to find an ATM since they only took cash–and watched TV and read.  There was also a trip to the bookstore somewhere in there as well, but I think that goes without saying. The big one in the UK is called Waterstones, but there was also a Borders (and you wouldn’t believe how happy I was when I found it).

It always made me happy to see bookstores in Europe.

It always made me happy to see bookstores in Europe.

The next day, I flew to Barcelona to meet up with my friends. We went out to celebrate the night after that. We had dinner at a restaurant that I didn’t realize until later, was mentioned in “The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (great book, by the way…I highly recommend it).

Afterwards, we went to an Irish pub. We met some guys from New York and hung out with them. Because my birthday is on St. Patrick’s Day, my friend bought me a green beer. Unfortunately, I’m not a big fan of beer (I’m more of a mixed drink type of girl). However, I felt bad so I drank it anyway. I’m not going to go into much detail but I will say that I drank more than I should’ve and that the Irish Car Bomb is definitely not something I want to drink again.

"I'm graduated!"

"I'm graduated!"

After Europe, I came home for my final quarter. It was actually through one of my classes that I began this blog. During this time, nothing too significant happened until the end. And obviously at the end, I graduated from college and earned my bachelor’s degree in journalism.

This was quite the accomplishment, of course. I was excited and proud. But I was also scared as hell. Because as I’ve said many times, journalism really isn’t the best field to go into. The pay flat out sucks and there’s not much when it comes to job security. Plus, with all the new technologies, traditional journalism (AKA print journalism) is suffering. But this was what I wanted to do and so I stuck with it. And I’m glad I did because I’m doing something that I love.

Once I left school, it was time for me to find a job. And let’s just say that was definitely not easy. I continued to work at the Gap and my parents constantly got on my case to get a “real job.” I’ll admit that I spent a good deal of my summer kind of slacking off and just hanging out but I did go to the UNITY journalism convention in Chicago. I did the whole networking thing and met a lot cool people. Unfortunately, no immediate job resulted.

The rest of my summer was uneventful. It wasn’t until late September that things started looking up. The editor at the Post Register in Idaho Falls contacted me and asked if I was still looking for a job. I was. We started communicating back and forth via email and eventually, I was offered a position as the education reporter. I accepted and moved to IF, which is where I live now. I did a lot of growing up since then and have learned the joys and pitfalls of being on my own.

 

Wynn wasn't too happy about my moving.

Wynn wasn't too happy about my moving.

I’ve only been back home once (and made a movie with the girls while there) since then and really wish I could go home more often. I get homesick a lot but I guess that’s just how it goes. I’m getting used to IF and who knows? Maybe I’ll break out of my shell and make friends soon? We’ll see.

I’ll be 23 in two weeks. That’s officially mid-twenties–early mid-twenties, but mid-twenties all the same. For some people that would probably be a big deal but I’ve never really been the type of person to freak out about getting older. I just take it as it comes and hope for the best. That’s all any of us can really do. Don’t over think or worry about it. That’ll just cause you to age prematurely. Then you’re really screwed.

I’m not sure what my 23rd year has in store for me but I’m definitely going to think about what I want from it and what I hope to accomplish. That post will be coming definitely before my birthday. I will also be posting a birthday wish list.

One comment on “Highlights from my 22nd year of life

  1. I can’t believe I wont get to see you for your birthday. I’ll always remember the first time we celebrated and I met Jackie and Jess. And of course for your 21st when we all had dinner with your sister downtown.

    It’s weird to think that I’ve known you since you were 19 and now you’re turning 23!
    We’ll celebrate when you come home for HP. And we’ll have a real staycation– complete with Steak Night (because that’s all I’ve been thinking about since I went vegetarian).

Leave a Reply

