1 Comment

Turning the table: Interviewer becomes interviewee

As a journalist, I’m always the one who asks the questions. So when Wynn tossed out the invitation to be interviewed, I jumped at the chance. Here’s what she asked me:

  1. Who would you cast to play yourself in a biographical movie?
  2. Think back to your fondest memory. Why is this memory special to you?
  3. What makes a guy stand out to you?
  4. What is your favorite opening line from a book you’ve read?
  5. What is something you want to accomplish now to tell your grandchildren about in the future?

Here are the rules:

  1. Leave a comment saying you want to be interviewed.
  2. I will respond by message asking you five questions.
  3. You’ll update your journal with my five questions, as well as your five answers. Remember to tag me so I can read it.
  4. You’ll include this explanation.
  5. You’ll ask other people if they want to be interviewed by you.

So, here are my answers:

Who would you cast to play yourself in a biographical movie?

My onscreen counterpart

My onscreen counterpart.

Oh goodness. Start out with a tough one. This probably sounds horrible but my first thought was to try and remember the actors from Joy Luck Club because there aren’t many Asian American actors out there but this movie has a bunch of them all in one place.

But then I remembered a movie I watched for my Asian American media class in college: Saving Face, directed by Alice Wu. Part of the plot centered around a young Chinese American woman who’s gay but not ready to come out because of cultural expectations. Although I’m not gay (or Chinese), I thought Michelle Krusiec did a great job portraying a young woman stuck between two worlds and trying to fit into both.

I–along with every other Asian American kid–dealt with this type of balancing act. Growing up  Cambodian American certainly isn’t the same as growing up Chinese American but I think growing up Asian American gives you experiences that the majority of people with similar backgrounds can relate to.

Obviously, Krusiec would play the more current version of me. I don’t know who I would have play the younger me just because I can’t think of any young Asian American actors. I guess we’ll just have to discover some great new talent for that role.

Think back to your fondest memory. Why is this memory special to you?

This probably sounds corny but now that I’ve moved out and away from home, any memories involving my family and/or friends. It’s really that whole you-don’t-know-what-you-have-till-it’s-gone thing–although, I did know what I had before it was gone.

I may not have had a choice in the selection process but I certainly wouldn't trade my family for anything.

I may not have had a choice in the selection process but I certainly wouldn't trade my family for anything.

My most recent fond family memory is finding them on the track  at Husky Stadium after my graduation ceremony.

The ceremony itself dragged on forever but once it was over and I found my family in the crowd and saw how proud they were of me.

My parents may not have been thrilled with me going into journalism but once they realized I was serious, they took me more serious, which I consider to be one of my greatest accomplishments. When I received my (albeit, fake) diploma, that just drove that feeling home.

The last time I got together with my best friends, this video was the end result. I was home for Christmas and we had our annual holiday party. It’s become a tradition for us to bake cookies on this night (pretty cracking party, I know). Last year, we just decorated the cookies but this year we decorated them and created a “kooky” movie.

Thinking about that night just makes me smile because we were filming well into the early morning. It was just so random and ridiculous, which made it so much fun.

What makes a guy stand out to you?

The world is filled with good-looking guys. They’re everywhere. But physically speaking, what separates the ones who I let pass and the ones who I give a second glance at  are the eyes and smile. And I mean when he really smiles and it shows in his eyes. It just shows he’s truly happy and enjoying that moment. If I just so happen to be the reason for that smile, even better!

When it comes to personality, I want a guy whose got a sense of humor and doesn’t have a problem laughing at himself. The one thing I hate most in a guy is cockiness so there’s just something sexy about a guy who realizes he’s not the shit but is okay with it.

What is your favorite opening line from a book you’ve read?

You can never go wrong with Diana Wynne Jones Chrestomanci!

You can never go wrong with Chrestomanci!

“It was years before Christopher told anyone about his dreams.”

The Lives of Christopher Chant” by Diana Wynne Jones

Leave it to Wynn to take my weakness and turn it against me. I read way too much and I can’t remember how every book starts. I literally had to go through all the books I own (that I’ve read) to see what my favorite line was.

“The Lives of Christopher Chant” is of my favorite books of all time. I don’t remember when I first read it–probably around middle school but it could have been as early as elementary school–but I remember I loved it then just as I love it now.

I remember the first time I read that opening line, I just had to know what kind of dreams Christopher was having. Were they good dreams? Bad dreams? Did they do something to him physically? Mentally? How do they relate to his lives (yes, plural)? And of course, because it is Jones, what kind of magic is involved? You just expect that with DWJ.

What is something you want to accomplish now to tell your grandchildren about in the future?

Well first, I’d actually want grandchildren to tell tales of my accomplishments to. That in itself would be an accomplishment.

As for what I’d want to tell them, I’d want to tell them that I went after what I wanted regardless of what people thought. I’ve started doing that since I’ve moved to Idaho Falls but I want to be able to tell them that I kept at it, even when the shit hit the fan (isn’t that a lovely image…and yes, I’ll probably be a swearing grandma, at least once they get to a certain age ;-)). I want them to know that I gave it my all because I wouldn’t expect any less from them.

One comment on “Turning the table: Interviewer becomes interviewee

  1. Great answers!!! I was especially looking forward to hearing about the opening line of a book.
    I’m not surprised that it’s a DWJ book =)
    And you would make the coolest swearing grandma that I know!

Leave a Reply

