1 Comment

5, 6, 7, 8!

For the last month I’ve been taking this hip-hop class at the gym. It’s an hour-long class where we learn some choreography and practice it for that hour. The choreography’s not too hard but the repetition really works in terms of a cardio workout. I’ve made friends (I know, my first non-work friend!) with the instructor Nikki, who actually teaches the Latin “Bugaloo” class but subs for hip-hop every now and then. We got to talking after the first time she subbed a few weeks ago and I told her I did hip-hop and step in high school and she said the next time she subbed, she’d let me teach a few eight counts of step.

Well my friends, that day was today!

But first, for those of you who don’t know what step is, here’s a sample (I was definitely never this good):

I came up two eight counts to music and taught them to the class–which had dwindled to four people. I hadn’t done it in so long but it was great! I had flashbacks to high school and I was tempted to yell out “TWEET!” like I used to as step captain. I have to say I was pretty impressed by the class. They picked it up pretty quickly, for the most part, and were even able to kind of do it to the music. I was so proud. Hehehe.

When I was teaching, I was stomping, clapping and slapping pretty hard so my hands got extremely red and so did my thigh. In my opinion, that’s how you know you’re loud enough. It really brought me back. It’s amazing how much you remember without realizing. I’m really looking forward to the next time Nikki subs just so I can think of something new. Don’t know when that’ll be but I can’t wait!

In the meantime, I’m taking Richard up on his 30-day challenge and try to post daily for 30 days straight. So today through May 15, I’ll be posting every day. We’ll see how well it goes. Feel free to comment, encourage and or criticize to keep me going. I have a feeling I’m going to need it. Wish me luck!

One comment on “5, 6, 7, 8!

  1. Awh! I’m so happy that you’re teaching a gym class (sort of)! Sounds fun and it seems like you really miss step.

    Definitely looking forward to you posting for thirty days straight!!! =)

Leave a Reply

