6 Comments

Sammi’s ultimate playlist

Since I started this 30-day challenge, I’ve been doing a lot of lists. I’ve done my goals for the year, my dream interviews…okay so I guess I’ve only done two. But I’m adding another one so here’s list number three: my ultimate playlist.

Here’s a list of songs I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of listening to (in no particular order):

  1. “Lapdance” by N*E*R*D* – It’s such a deliciously dirty song. With lyrics like “Chicks nickname me ‘Pilot,’ they get high off my dick/I take ’em home, they call it the ‘Cockpit'”, you can’t help but feel a bit naughty. You’d think my feminist sensibilities would be all offended but they’re not. Contents of other rap songs offend me but this one doesn’t.
  2. “Frontin'” by Pharrell – This song is so chill. It’s all about admitting to putting up a front to impress people and pretending you’re cool when you’re totally sprung over someone. Something I’ve done in the past.
  3. “Forgot About Dre” by Dr. Dre ft. Eminem – This song takes me back to the eighth grade. They played this at a dance and I can still see my friend Michelle doing Dre’s part. Me, I had Slim’s. I had it memorized at one point but not so much anymore. I’m working on it.
  4. “Don’t Ever Fucking Question That” by Atmosphere – My favorite song by them. It’s just full of irony: “I love you–don’t ever fucking question that/That’s why we’ll probably never get along/If I was better at finding the right words to say/I wouldn’t need to write these mother-fucking songs.” Well, for my listening’s sake, I hope he doesn’t get better because I love their music.
  5. “We Belong Together” by Mariah Carey – The title says it all. It’s all about two people who belong together but don’t realize it until they’ve broken up. Mariah’s probably got the best voice ever and she sings this song so well. And plus, the video’s got Wentworth Miller–one of my five hot celebrity guys–in it.
  6. “London Underground” by The Streets – This song is hilarious. The melody and music are so cheerful but he’s bitching and moaning about the London Underground and how the drivers are always on strike and how it’s ridden with tourists. When I was in London, I actually took the Underground and I always had that song playing in my head whenever I stepped onboard. They really do tell you to mind the gap.
  7. “I Love it When You Call” by The Feeling – I first heard this song while working at the Gap. It’s another song of great irony: “I love it when you call/I love it when you call/I love it when you call but you never call at all.” That’s got to suck, huh?
  8. “So What Does it All Mean” by Johnny Was – I admit to having a bit of a bias with this song because this is Shane West’s band (they used to be called Average Jo) and by now you probably know he’s another one on my list. But I listened to the song and it’s actually pretty good. I first heard it on the soundtrack for “A Walk to Remember.”
  9. “Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi – This is probably the best song to sing along to in the car. Just crank up the volume and start singing. Don’t be afraid to do a little head banging. Just make sure it’s when you’re at a red light so you don’t get in an accident. It’s also fun when it plays in the club. I can still see my sister singing and dancing to it on her birthday at Tia Lou’s in Belltown.
  10. “Regulate” by Warren G – This song came out when I was in elementary school. I still remember being in second grade and rapping that first line: “It was a clear black night, a clear white moon/Warren G was on the streets trying to consume…” Nate Dogg’s part is my favorite, though.
  11. “I Wear My Sunglasses at Night” by Corey Hart – I love listening to this song and actually doing this. My friends and I enjoy doing this while we drive around. Somehow, I always end up being the one driving so I can’t really wear my shades since it’s dark out. One of these days, though…
  12. “I Want You to Want Me” by Cheap Trick – It’s pretty simple. I think everybody wants somebody to want them, needs somebody to need them, etc. Plus, it’s just another fun song to sing along to.
  13. “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey – Possibly the best karaoke song of all time. Peter and the gang even perform it on Family Guy.
  14. “(I Just) Died in Your Arms Tonight” by Cutting Crew – It’s so dramatic. The “death” actually refers to an orgasm (during sex, obviously). I didn’t know this till I saw VH1’s Top 100 One-Hit Wonders of the 80s. Who says you don’t learn things from TV?
  15. “Hopeless Love” by Daphne Loves Derby – Another pretty dramatic song. I mean, “What would it take for me to be with you?/I swear I’d rip my heart out if you said you’d be impressed”? Come on, now. A bit over the top, don’t you think? But the mellow guitar and pretty melody seem to balance it out.
  16. “End of the Road” by Boyz II Men – Sad breakup song but still a classic. Seth and Summer even listened to it (at the same time, but separately) at one point of their rocky relationship in the second season of The OC.
  17. “The Greatest Man That Ever Lived” by Weezer – Because it reminds me of Olympic music and the title just makes it that much more fitting.
  18. “The Ave” by Blue Scholars – I always feel a burst of Husky Pride when I hear this. “Fuck class, get your education on the Ave.” Hells yeah! Some of the places Geologic mentions still existed last time I checked, which is quite the feat since a lot of places on the Ave change owners, names, etc. quite often.
  19. “It’s Over Now” by 112 – One of my favorite groups. I love the video. This was the first time I’d seen the guys dance and I was jealous as hell. I only wished they danced more in their later videos.
  20. “Hands Down” by Dashboard Confessional – Ironically, this song brings up sad memories. I remember driving up I-5, belting “And you stood at your door, with your hands on my waist/And you kissed me like you meant it” at the top of my lungs and crying. It was the end of a long day and I was going through some particularly heavy relationship drama (at least, in my mind).

Well, that’s a nice round 20. I think that’s enough. I haven’t actually burned this mix onto a CD but I think I will. It’ll give me something new to listen to when I drive.

6 comments on “Sammi’s ultimate playlist

  1. […] Original post by sammi says… […]

  2. hi

    i find nice information your blog

    Thanks
    mecarz

  3. At first I was like, “damn, thats a lotta hip hop.” But then I saw Journey and that made me happy! Also, why aren’t The Killers on here??!! Hmmmm? Wasn’t Jenny a friend of yours?

  4. @ mecarz – Thanks!

    @ Deliliah – Yeah, I actually forgot about The Killers. I don’t know why. I didn’t remember until afterwards. But yeah, they should be on there. I’d say “Human” or “Mr. Brightside” would be there. Not too sure about Jenny, though. We weren’t that close to begin with.

  5. Hi, cool post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for writing. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

