3 Comments

Dating: nothing more than a second job?

If a journalist’s lede is his pick-up line, then his nut graf is when he asks for your number – it’s the point where he seals the deal or not.”

Nut grafs from Stuff Journalists Like

I never thought of it that way but now that I have, it makes perfect sense. In an article, you’re trying to sell the story. In a pick up, you’re trying to sell yourself (and no, I don’t mean it in the sex-for-money way).

I don’t know why I haven’t thought about it this way before.

Maybe this is how I should approach dating. You know, just think of it like my job. Meeting a guy and getting to know him is nothing more than writing a story.

I just read that last sentence and I’m not sure if it’s crazy or brilliant. Either way, it’s interesting. I can just see myself now:

I see a cute guy across the room. We make eye contact and you know, connect. I make my way toward him and words swirl through my head as I try to think of how I want to hook him. When I finally reach him, I still have nothing to say but I can’t just stand there staring at him. So I open my mouth:

“Hi I’m Samantha. Nice to meet you. Would you–“

And then my brain freezes and I suffer from a mean case of writer’s block and say,

“Oh wait. Delete, delete, delete!”

Yeah, that wouldn’t be uncomfortable at all. If I can’t even make it past the lede, how the hell am I going to make it to the nut graf? That would probably be one of the most awkward conversations for both me and the guy. But any conversation with a cute guy for me would be an improvement and up my non-existent game.

I’m going to have to think about this.

3 comments on “Dating: nothing more than a second job?

  1. That sounds like an awkward moment that I’d like to witness =)

  2. Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your site.

Leave a Reply

