Leave a comment

Storm who?

The moment I woke up this morning I knew it was going to be one of those days. Me against the elements. And goodness, was it ever.

All day the wind has been howling, whistling, shrieking and every other form of personification tied to it you can think of. And wouldn’t today just be the day where I spend my whole morning outside for a story?

Yup, it was one of those days.

Fortunately, it was a relatively warm day so at least I wasn’t freezing my ass off outside. But still, my hair was flying everywhere, making me wish I’d worn a hat and fear brushing it, taking notes during interviews was difficult with the pages of my notebook flapping around and I was constantly being pushed around by gusts upwards of 30 miles per hour. Even Doris wasn’t immune to it. When we stopped at at a stop sign or light, she would get shaken up too! It was also hard to keep her windows and sunroof open too because the winds were kicking up dirt, dust and sand that would fly inside.

One of the things that freaked me out was stoplights. Whenever Doris and I stopped at one, I would see just how windy it was because the lights would be swaying heavily in the wind. I’m not talking about to the point where they’re almost flapping. Now, these were the kinds of lights that hang from a wire, which really isn’t any more assuring since I saw it as nothing more than thick string. Those lights could’ve just snap off at any second and land on me and Doris, which is quite disconcerting for a girl who has this fear of things falling on top of her.

And the stoplights on the bars weren’t any better. Those would only be swaying slightly, but still! If that fell on us, there would be even more damage! I already hate it when I hit a red light. This windstorm didn’t help alleviate my anxiousness.

I even had a hard time once I got back to my apartment. Closing the door was a challenge because the wind was pushing against it. I had to put almost all my weight into shoving it shut. But that didn’t stop it either. For the brief moments it took me to lock my door, I could feel the wind blow through the crack between the door and the door frame. Now that is one determined gust!

I think the last time I was outside during a windstorm this bad (or worse) was when I was in Berlin. Neither I nor my friends realized it but we were doing our sightseeing right in the middle of Storm Emma, which actually became deadly. It probably wouldn’t have been reassuring at the time, but it feels good now to say we survived the storm. Just like I survived today’s storm, which has yet to be given a name.

Leave a Reply

