1 Comment

Missing home at home, but what can you do?

I’ve been home for two days now and it’s been great but it’s really funny to see what kind of things you miss from home when you’re gone a long time.

When my dad was driving me home Wednesday morning, one of the first things I noticed was how many trees there were along the freeway because there isn’t much in east Idaho. Wynn was right. It’s really brown in Idaho Falls compared to home. As my dad and I drove through downtown Seattle, I was reminded of all the under and overpasses because they don’t have those back in IF. Here’s one of the first things that came to mind when I saw them: progress. No joke. I don’t say that to mean Idaho is backwards or stuck in the past but just moving at a slower pace, I guess.

When I got home, I hung out with my parents a bit and had lunch before my dad had to go back to work. I took a nap because my flight was pretty early and I was tired. Afterwards, Wynn picked me up and we went to the mall to visit my Gap folk and then we went to Borders. We didn’t have time to do the whole bookstoring thing but that was alright. I’ve got a few days left.

It's hard to go wrong with $5 steak!

It's hard to go wrong with $5 steak!

Afterwards, I went to steak night at Greenlake Bar and Grill (not South Lake Grill, as originally planned) with Jessica and some of my Rome friends. It was great because I didn’t get to see them when I came home for Christmas because the weather was so crappy. We also went out for gelato afterwards. I was pretty happy about it because I hadn’t had any in more than a year. And having it with my Rome friends reminded me of the good times we had in Italy. Man, I miss that country.

My first bite of gelato in more than a year!

My first bite of gelato in more than a year!

Yesterday I went to lunch with Abby, one of my J-school friends. We went to Kafe Neo, this Greek restaurant not too far from my house. It was great because I hadn’t had Greek food in ages. Afterwards, we went to the beach down in Edmonds for a little bit. Despite the wind, I had a great time. I forgot how much I missed living on the coast. *sigh* I’m going to miss it when I go back. Oh well, what can you do?

Abby and me hanging out down in Edmonds.

Abby and me hanging out down in Edmonds.

That night, I went to dinner with my family for my sister’s birthday. We went to this Japanese restaurant in Shoreline. We’d never eaten there before and it wasn’t that great but oh well. I was with my family so that was great.

Today, I’m probably going to do some downtown shopping with my sister and do the tourist thing down in Pike Place Market before heading over to Safeco Field for the Mariners game. I’m pretty excited about that because I haven’t been to a game in ages. And like my sister, I’m excited for my hot dog from the vendors on Occidental.

I can’t wait!

One comment on “Missing home at home, but what can you do?

  1. Oh Edmonds :), I am glad you were able to enjoy the beach.

    I hope you had a nice time in downtown Seattle and at the Mariner game.
    Last night I was on the train from Paris on my way back “home” to Montluçon. A girl sat next to me and asked me a question to verify that she was on the correct train. From there we had a short conversation. She was studying abroad in a city west of Paris, originally from Japan. We talked about where we were both from. She was unfamiliar with Seattle, though I mentioned Starbucks and she knew what that was. I mentioned Pike Place Market in there as well and it reminded me of the entry you wrote about visiting the first Starbucks.

    Being away definitely makes one get a better sense of their surroundings.

Leave a Reply

