Leave a comment

I’m so glad AP agrees with me

A little while back, I wrote about how the term Oriental offends me.

Well, I am happy to say I’m not alone. Actually, I already knew I wasn’t alone, but I am here today to show you I’m not alone.

One of my favorite blogs to visit is Stuff Journalists Like. The latest post was about political correctness and here’s is my favorite part (emphasis added):

The AP Stylebook gives journalists these options: Abortion rights supporter is preferred over Pro choice. American Indian NOT Native American. African-American and black (NOT capitalized) are both acceptable terms. And there is the old adage: rugs are Oriental, people are Asian.

I literally laughed (and snorted) out loud when I read that.

Afterwards, I decided to see what exactly my AP Stylebook has to say about the topic. Here’s what I found:

Asian, Asiatic Use Asian or Asians when referring to people. Some Asians regard Asiatic as offensive when applied to people.

Orient, Oriental Capitalize when referring to the Far East nations of Asia and nearby islands. Asian is the preferred term for an inhabitant of these regions. Also: Oriental rug, Oriental cuisine.

I already knew this, but it’s always nice to be validated, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

