3 Comments

I’ll take home runs over touchdowns any day

People look forward to the Emotion Bowl between Skyline (in blue) and Idaho Falls (in orange) high schools every year.

The Emotion Bowl between Skyline (blue) and Idaho Falls (orange) high schools every year is always exciting.

Last night, I went to the Skyline High SchoolIdaho Falls High School football game, otherwise known as the Emotion Bowl (yes, there’s a website for this rivalry). This was literally my first football game in six years. The last game I’d been to was the homecoming game of my senior year in high school (we lost).

Now, I’ve never been a big fan of football; as I’ve said it before, baseball is my Ball Sport of choice. I did watch the game and did pay attention to what was going on, but honestly, it could not hold my attention for very long. I think I spent as much time watching the cheerleaders — as a former gymnast and Steppa, I have very strong opinions about high school cheerleaders — the bands and the mascots.

Me and Melissa last night at the Emotion Bowl...not the hoods, hats and coats zipped up to our chins.

Me and Melissa last night at the Emotion Bowl...not the hoods, hats and coats zipped up to our chins.

Another thing that distracted me from the game was the weather. I went with my friend Melissa, whose brother was playing for Skyline, and her family. She had volunteered to help out with some of the booster club stuff before the game, so we were there early. And, before the game even started, it began to snow. Despite being bundled up in a hoodie, raincoat and blanket, it still took quite a bit of effort for me to not think about the cold. That’s another reason why I love baseball: it’s mostly a spring and summer sport.

Me at a Mariners game in May...note the t-shirt and sunglasses.

Me at a Mariners game in May...note the t-shirt and sunglasses.

What I’ve been able to gather from my limited football-watching experiences, you pretty much try to get the ball from one end of the field to the other without allowing the other team to stop you. Obviously, there’s more to it than that but that seems to be the gist of it (correct me if I’m wrong, people).

There’s a lot going on all at once during a football game. Listening to the announcer, I was suitably impressed with his calls and just hearing all the different plays in a quarterback’s arsenal (the shuffle and option, just to name a couple) was enough to confuse me.

I’ve heard many say that baseball is a slow sport and it’s not very exciting. But, I tend to like the lulls during the game because it makes the action that much more exciting. Plus, it’s just easier for me to keep track of what’s going on.

The IF tigers are pretty close to scoring a touchdown against the Skyline grizzlies. That much I can tell.

The IF tigers are pretty close to scoring a touchdown against the Skyline grizzlies. That much I can tell.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not bashing football while singing baseball’s praises. I can honestly see why people love the game. I’m just saying baseball is more my style. Maybe things would be a bit different if my family had gone to Seahawks games instead of Mariners games when I was younger.

3 comments on “I’ll take home runs over touchdowns any day

  1. Being American means you’re into sports. I’ve never liked baseball but perhaps that will change someday. I think watching a game from the stands is better than watching from the couch.

  2. Baseball is certainly THE American sport. I think it is because of its accessiblity to the general public both in terms of playing and attending. Kids start playing tee ball at five years old and compared to football, there are a lot of baseball games in a season and it is much cheaper to attend a game.
    While baseball is considered our national sport, football is pretty uniquely American, despite that there is Canadian football.

  3. JMJT

    Yea – It’s always emotion bowl when the whether is at its crappiest.

    I’m still glad you got come! There’s a first time for everything! 🙂

    ~Mel

Leave a Reply

