Leave a comment

NWAW’s April must-reads: laughs in honor of moms

Here are my latest book recommendations for the Northwest Asian Weekly:

NWAW’s April must-reads: laughs in honor of moms

“My Mom is a Fob”
By Teresa Wu and Serena Wu
Penguin Group, 2011

For Asian Americans, the term “fob” is not new. If anything, it’s commonly used to refer to those moments we have that lean more toward the Asian part of our upbringing than the American.

Fob, or “Fresh Off the Boat,” has previously been used in a derogatory manner, but Teresa and Serena Wu have taken the word and turned it into one of pride, specifically when it comes to mothers.

In “My Mom is a Fob,” the sisters share moments in their lives where their mother exhibits particularly fobby behavior. But rather than being embarrassed about it, they reminisce fondly over the memories, knowing their mother — no matter what she had said or done — was only looking out for them with the best intentions.

The book is also a compilation of other fobby mom moments collected from their blog, mymomisafob.com, and submitted by others.

As a daughter of Asian immigrants, I found myself laughing out loud at some of the entries. I could easily imagine my own mother doing or saying similar things. From wearing ridiculously large hats for sun protection to opening my mail, to giving me brutally honest and unsolicited advice about what to eat, wear, pursue as a career, etc., my mom would fit right in with the rest.

“My Mom” will have readers, both Asians and non-Asians alike, in stitches. The former because they’re probably anxious to get to a computer to submit their own entries, and the latter because, well, the things these women say and do are just plain funny.

In addition to thinking about their mothers’ antics, I’m sure some readers may also think about their own. I certainly did and admit to having inherited fobby tendencies in certain aspects of my life.

And while in the past, this may have been embarrassing, like the Wu sisters, I embrace it and proudly wave my fob flag (one of the 24 napkins I’d taken from Starbucks, tied to a chopstick) up high.

To read more, click here.

Leave a Reply

