2 Comments

The end is not near, it’s here!

As many news outlets have mentioned, this week we are saying goodbye to something that has been part of many people’s lives for more than a decade.

Daniel Radcliffe, J.K. Rowling, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint at the "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II" premiere. Courtesy photo.

Come Thursday night and Friday morning, the world will begin to say goodbye to the greatness that is Harry Potter as Deathly Hallows Part II opens in theaters everywhere.

And as a proud member of Generation Potter, I have to admit I am as excited as I am saddened by this.

I took my first trip to Hogwarts when I was in the eighth grade. Many of my gymnastics teammates were constantly talking about the books (this was a couple years before the films were made). They all seemed so excited about the series that I decided to check it out for myself. When my family went up to Canada for my sister’s swim meet, I picked out “Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone,” at a local one-stop shop similar to Walmart. I didn’t know the series order and with the change in name for book one in the American version, it was pure luck that I’d picked out the right book.

And from that first book I was hooked. I’ve always been a huge fan of fantasy since I was very young, so a book filled with magic, castles and dragons immediately tickled my fancy. I fell in love with all things Harry and to this day, have yet to fall out of love.

I can’t say Harry Potter was a part of my childhood as I was already a teenager by the time I met him, but I can say I grew up with him, Ron Weasley, Hermione Granger and the rest of the gang. They were definitely a big part of my adolescence as they have distracted me and helped me forget my troubles when I’ve had to deal with many difficult times in my life; and they continue to do so.

So, in honor of the film series coming to an end, I will be sharing with you my favorite moments from each of the movies all week, beginning with the first two films. Enjoy!

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
(2001)

Ron gets annoyed by Hermione in Charms. Courtesy photo.

My favorite part in this film comes right after this scene (unfortunately, I couldn’t find a video of the actual scene). Harry, Ron, Dean Thomas and Seamus Finnigan are walking the Hogwarts grounds after class and Ron is complaining about having Hermione as a partner:

“It’s lev-i-O-sa, not lev-i-o-SA! Honestly, she’s a nightmare! It’s no wonder she hasn’t got any friends.”

I just think it’s hilarious how he says it. He sounds so snobby and like such a know-it-all (which Hermione can be from time to time) that you can’t help but laugh. He’s really annoyed and fed up, but when Hermione overhears the boys laughing and bumps into Ron as she rushes to get away, you can tell he regrets his words. Ron was just blowing off steam and working out frustrations and probably didn’t mean his words too much (he was 11, after all).

I also love this scene because it’s the beginning of my favorite relationship in the series. The joking ginger and studious bookworm have this love-hate relationship throughout the series and by the end, I think the “Will they? Won’t they?” question concerning these two becomes as pressing as the ones about which characters live and which die. This scene in the first film sets all of this up quite nicely.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
(2002)

Ron's wand broke when he and Harry crashed Mr. Weasley's car into the Whomping Willow.

My favorite part in this film is right after Harry tells Ron and Hermione about Hagrid potentially releasing the monster from the Chamber of Secrets. The trio is trying to figure out how to approach the gamekeeper about this and Ron points out how cheerful that visit would be and acts out a potential scenario:

“Hello Hagrid. Tell us, have you been setting anything big and hairy loose in the castle?”

His cheerful expression and demeanor as he acts out the situation shows the sarcastic, sardonic and wry sense of humor that I enjoy most — and in someone so young shows great potential.

As you can see, I’m a huge fan of Ron (he’s my favorite character in the series). A lot of the time, such as this moment, his dialogue and actions serve as comic relief. But from time to time, he does point out to the other two some good points.

Like, how would you approach a trusted friend in this particular situation? What is the protocol, exactly?

Another reason I love Ron is that he’s even more of an underdog than Harry. Although he has things Harry wishes he had — family, a wizarding upbringing and the familiarity that comes with that — Ron can be and is often overlooked and overshadowed by his best friend’s fame, the girl he loves’ intelligence and his siblings’ accomplishments (and gender, in the case of younger sister Ginny).

So I especially love it when he has moments to shine, whether they be in his awesome one liners or later on in the series when he’s helping in the battle against good and evil.

2 comments on “The end is not near, it’s here!

  1. […] from my previous post, here are my favorite scenes from the third and fourth Harry Potter […]

  2. […] Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2” Friday morning (at midnight). And as a fan who has grown up with the series, I was not disappointed. In fact, I’m ready to see it […]

Leave a Reply

